Paranoid

Currently Watching
The Day After Tomorrow (Widescreen Edition)
By Dennis Quaid, Jake Gyllenhaal, Emmy Rossum
see related

So, I watched the Day After Tommorrow last night. It was a pretty decent movie, the science of it fascinated me, as it was based on Art Bell’s book, the Coming Global Superstorm. Then, because I am fully nocturnal now, I listened to Art Bell on the radio after the movie went off at, like, one in the morning. (I had only awakened at about nine at night). So he was talking about global warming and had physicist Michio Kaku explaining what devastating effects the world will soon see if people don’t do something about it. Now, I know that it is a little sensationalist. But I am not with Green Peace or anything like that. I realize that no matter what we do to it, the Earth will be fine. It is not the Earth I am worried about, it’s mankind. I LIKE guzzling large amounts of natural gas and oil to keep my life running comfortably! So a change in that may mean that my collection of DVDs and vinyl records was all for naught. I know I sound like a materialistic whore, but what else should I do? I have been raised in this society, and I have NO survival skills should the end of the world come. That being the case, I would prefer if we found some other source of power before its too late.

It’s not that I just heard about this and watched a movie and got all bent out of shape. There’s recent evidence that is freaking me out, too. The tsunamis in Indonesia, the hurricanes in Florida, the extreme warmth in Alaska,(where it is raining and should be freezing)the fact that it is snowing in Reno, Nevada. It’s a little freaky.

The worst part is, I have no idea where to take refuge. Do I retreat to Canada, if it gets warmer, because it will become the new “breadbasket”?Do I go south if there is a new ice-age?What I really want to do is go to the Mediterranean, as it was the FIRST cradle of civilization and would surely fare well should we have to revert back to those olden times. But that’s all near water and do I want to risk such catastrophic events such as tsunamis and hurricanes there?

 

Leave a Reply

