Little Blurbs of Wisdom Published…

Abe Lincoln- “I don’t know who my grandfather was; I am much more concerned to know what his grandson will be.”
Ambrose Bierce- “Beauty. The power by which a woman charms a lover and terrifies a husband.”
“the covers of this book are too far apart.”
Mark Twain- “Truth is stranger than fiction, but it is because Fiction is obliged to stick to possibilities; Truth isn’t.”
Ernest Hemingway- “When writing a novel a writer should create living people; people not characters. A character is a caricature.”
“Eschew the monumental. Shun the Epic. All the guys who can paint great big pictures can paint great small ones.”
“The most essential gift for a good writer is a built-in, shock-proof, shit detector. This is the writer’s radar and all great writers have had it.”
“That terrible mood of depression of whether itís any good or not is what is known as The Artist’s Reward.”
Kurt Vonnegut- “I was taught that the human brain was the crowning glory of evolution so far, but I think it’s a very poor scheme for survival.”
Ray Bradbury- “I don’t try to describe the future. I try to prevent it.”
Walt Whitman- “Do I contradict myself?
Very well then I contradict myself,
(I am large, I contain multitudes).”
John Steinbeck- “The discipline of the written word punishes both stupidity and dishonesty.”
Herman Melville’s Captain Ahab- “The lightning flashes through my skull; mine eyeballs ache and ache; my whole beaten brain seems as beheaded, and rolling on some stunning ground.”
F. Scott Fitzgerald- “When the first-rate author wants an exquisite heroine or a lovely morning, he finds that all the superlatives have been worn shoddy by his inferiors. It should be a rule that bad writers must start with plain heroines and ordinary mornings, and, if they are able, work up to something better.”
“Cut out all these exclamation points. An exclamation point is like laughing at your own joke.”
“To a profound pessimist about life, being in danger is not depressing.”
Henry David Thoreau- “Pity the man who has a character to support, it is worse than a large family, he is silent poor indeed.”
“I should not talk so much about myself if there were anybody else whom I knew as well.”
“As there is a use in medicine for poisons, so the world cannot move without rogues.”
Arthur Miller’s Lyman- “I love her too, but our neuroses don’t match.”
Will Rogers- “Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects.”
Ezra Pound- “Starvation: It’s listed as part of the poetic training, you know.”
Emily Dickinson- “Surgeons must be very careful,
When they take the knife!,
Underneath their fine incisions,
Stirs the Culprit: Life!”
Carl Sandburg- “Sometime they’ll give a war and nobody will come.”
Martin Luther King, Jr.- “If a man hasn’t discovered something that he will die for, he isn’t fit to live.”
Thomas Szasz- “A child becomes an adult when he realizes that he has a right not only to be right but also to be wrong.”
E.L. Doctorow- “It’s like driving a car at night. You never see further than your headlights, but you can make the whole trip that way.”

Leave a Reply

