One

It started as an average enough day. I had spent a grueling day at work and ended up reeking of onions and B.O.. Whether nobody but me could tell, or they were just polite, is beyond me. After work, I made the short walk across town over to the school to work on a final project or two. That’s not, in fact, true, I did stop at the bookstore to browse, and as the book demons commanded, I was forced to give my hard-earned cash in exchange for Mario Puzo’s The Godfather. Well, I run into a couple of good friends, we head over to Subway, and I am invited to join in a Role-Playing Game. For those of you who don’t know me, you should know that it was strange of me to start an RPG. In fact, I’m usually the guy in the internet chat rooms making fun of the Vulcans and other nerds. This is simple character insight, I’m not trying to make myself sound cool. Far from it, but I’d also like to think that I’m not at the other end of the spectrum either. But a friend of mine for whom I have a deep intellectual respect for vouched highly of his newest machination, and I let curiosity get the best of me. Well, learning was easy. After a short argument about replacing the complicated dice system with that of paper-rock-scissors, (I lost), I was taught how to GM. This means that I’m the king of the nerds, I control their nerdy fate. But I prefer to be known simply as the Grand High Poobah. My omni-potency ended up more of a Doug Adams novel rip-off than anything else. But, set to the music of Deep Purple, I felt that I had bridged the gap. If only others could see this form of interactive storytelling as I have.

Long story short, I didn’t end up sleeping. There was a James Bond special and, a… a.. why do I have to justify this to you?

Leave a Reply

